Sent secondary applications late due to a death in the family-need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zukiscribe

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-medical student applying to schools for the first time. I took time off after undergrad to enhance my resume because I wanted to be "ready" the first time I applied.
I was extremely excited for this cycle because I finally felt ready to apply.

Unfortunately, my brother passed away due to suicide right around the time I received secondaries. Because of this, I lost track of time due to grief, and ended up submitting secondaries much later than I had anticipated. Now I am working again in healthcare and I feel ready to get back to the grind, but I am fearful I may have ruined my chances by submitting secondaries late. I wanted to reach out to schools to explain this delay since I don't want them to think I was slacking, but I also don't want to appear as if I'm making an excuse for myself. Should I reach out to schools and explain the delay for sending secondaries late? Or just hope for the best?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a pre-medical student applying to schools for the first time. I took time off after undergrad to enhance my resume because I wanted to be "ready" the first time I applied.