Setting up a shot to Medicine in Germany

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

heidelberg-med

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm currently in final year studies and am looking to enrol in a German university for their medical studies. The main challenge at the moment is - I cannot speak/write German. Therefore, can you please check whether I have understood what needs to be fulfilled in an application (to Heidelberg) so I dont fill out 90% of the application to get rejected for missing an important note.

I will qualify for Candidate Group 1,
Therefore I need to go through uni-assist e.V. (grades from high school (IB) and university) and pay for the processsing fees
If this is correct and satisfied, I should receive a Preliminary documentation for direct application to the University of Heidelberg which I should submit with an application to Uni of Heidelberg with the uni Assist e.v.
+ proof of financing studies, passport,photos

Can someone clarify the - uncertified copy of the credit assessment notice of the State Examination Office of medicine, pharmacy and dentistry that I may need to send to Heidelberg? and a preliminary documentation ORIGINAL GSP Certificate of Academic Evaluation of their home country

Some things Im not certain of - an entrance exam for Heidelberg? Proof of competency? and what level of competency I would need to have in German.

Might need to consider a gap year to push up my German

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
...I'm sorry, but why would you want to attend a German University in a German-speaking country if you do not speak German?

Even if you immersed your studies, you'd probably need more than a year to build adequate proficiency for a foreign med school.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
...I'm sorry, but why would you want to attend a German University in a German-speaking country if you do not speak German?