Should I apply MD/PhD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiringmdphd19

Reaction score
Hi, I’m a bit nervous about putting my info out here but would appreciate any insight/advice you may have about applying MD/PhD!

I am a current 4th year undergraduate student at a big school and intending to apply MD/PhD this upcoming June (2023). I am currently preparing to take the MCAT so I don’t have that score yet, but I am a bit worried that my GPA is too low to have my application considered by MD/PhD admission committees. I currently have a cGPA of 3.55 (unsure on sGPA but I imagine it’s a little lower). My GPA has been on a consistent upward trend from freshman year until now — I did struggle in some STEM classes along the way (specifically Ochem/calculus/upper division chemistry courses) but have excelled in upper level/graduate level biology courses. I mainly struggled with my GPA because of the adjustment to college but then in my sophomore year of college, I was also enrolled in a full-time paramedic program on top of a full course-load at my university so I think I was just trying to do too much at once.