Should I continue with Optometry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedWizz

Reaction score
Hello all,
For context, I am currently 23 years old (single with no dependents) and have been accepted by the optometry schools I have applied to (ICO and UMSL). I currently live and work in North Carolina, so I would have to pay out-of-state tuition. I have already turned down my offer from UMSL and plan to attend ICO this Fall. I have an undergraduate degree in exercise science and have completed almost all pre-medical courses (biochemistry and the second semester of organic chemistry). I have a 3.94 GPA with around 1200 clinical hours as an ophthalmic assistant. I originally planned to pursue PA school, as I have struggled with a commitment to a particular area, but working as an ophthalmic assistant got me into optometry (yes, we have an optometrist I shadowed).

Next, I'm going to go over my current financial situation and tuition calculations with offers:
I currently have $21,000 in undergraduate loans, which are, on average, at a fixed 4% interest rate.

UMSL
Direct expenses-->$236,908*
Indirect expenses (4 years included)-->$130,000
Total expenses-->$366,908
Adjusted total expenses-->$298,908 (with a $17,000/year scholarship)
*I have spoke to financial aid, in which they stated "you will lose your scholarship offer if you apply for resident tuition after a year of residency"

ICO
Direct expenses-->$210,418
Indirect expenses-->$94,850 (I am not sure how this is lower than UMSL, but it was calculated using the cost sheet)
Total expenses-->$305,268
Adjusted total expenses-->$275,268 (with a $7,500/year scholarship)

Current thoughts/future job projections: