Should I Pass-Fail a Class To Save My 4.0

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shumax

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore with a 4.0 GPA. By the way things look right now, I am probably looking at a B in Physics 2 (cal based 5 credits). I may end with more B's as I am not nearly as motivated studying at home. Last week, my school announced optional pass-fail in which I can choose which classes get the pass-fail grade. Assuming that physics is my only B for now, should mark it as pass-fail, mark all classes as pass-fail, or take the B.

Members don't see this ad.

Dental schools won’t accept P/F for prereqs unless your undergrad made it mandatory P/F
Different schools will have different policies.

But I think it will look fishy if you chooses graded for all classes except one-- they will probably assume you didn't do well.

Members don't see this ad :)
Take the B. You can explain any shortcomings. A pass/fail doesn't set you apart on a curve. One B isn't the end of the world. Like others said, a 4.0 with little extracurricular involvement or additional social work does not look that good. Sacrifice the perfection.

If it were me, I would take the pass/fail. Based on what you mentioned about motivation and the level of classes you are taking, (you are still taking entry level science classes), the B's, especially weighted with 5 credit hours, could wreck your GPA. There is a good chance that your level of motivation will lead you to get additional bad grades in science courses.
So, my academic prescription for you would be:
A) Have a come to Jesus moment now and turn your attitude around regarding your academic motivation.
B) Take the pass/fails in the course you will get a B in.
C) Never take a pass/fail again
D) With your renewed mindset related to your study habits, absolutely crush all of your other classes.