Should I retake a 512 with a 124 in CARS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theNDhopeful44

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Title says it all. I'm absolutely ecstatic about my MCAT score, but the 124 in cars is a little concerning to me. Here's the breakdown: 130/124/128/130. I have a 3.82 cGPA and my science GPA is just as high. I shouldn't retake the test, right? It won't limit me from getting II's and interviews right?

My top choice is Tufts (I'm a student there for undergrad now), btw.

Members don't see this ad.

Man I'm in the same situation as you, but got a 514 total. Someone said 124 CARS is closer to a 8, which is like a bare minimum for getting IIs

Members don't see this ad :)
Can someone post a list of schools that don't accept a 124?

The main thing is if you think you will do better than a 512, by 3-5 points more. If not, then the only thing you can do is apply to schools that don't screen that out. Good luck!!

I can't retake two 130s and a 128, there's no way I could top that. What I was asking for was some information on schools that don't screen out scores below 125.

I can't retake two 130s and a 128, there's no way I could top that. What I was asking for was some information on schools that don't screen out scores below 125.
Oh I just went by your title asking whether you should retake or not! I"m sure you'll have a great list of schools!

Reactions: 1 user
Hey OP I'm in a similar situation as you:

512: 128/124/129/131

I wasn't able to sleep the night before my MCAT (and I only had a couple hours of sleep the day before that as well) so I found that the sleep deprivation hit my CARS section the most whereas I was able to do well on the other sections just based off of background knowledge. I really don't want to retake either (working full time and taking classes).