Should I still become a Pharmacist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bhc513

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been working at a pharmacy as a tech for a couple of months now and I like the actual job... but what I don't like is the customers. Everyone is always rude and will yell at you for just about anything. I keep a positive attitude and laugh about it, but sometimes it really gets to me even though I don't show it and I can't do anything about it. It's really making me rethink about staying in school to become a Pharmacist and I'm not sure what I should do. I've dreamed of becoming a pharmacist for years now and I have almost all of my pre-reqs done, possibly just one more year of undergrad, I just don't know how I'll deal with rude people for the rest of my life. I think that when I decide that enough is enough and I completely change my career-path, there's no other option for me since it has always been pharmacy. Do the customers stop being rude when you're a pharmacist or will I have to deal with poorly raised people for the rest of my career? Or any suggestions of what I should do with my life? Help please.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Don't worry, I was in your shoes as well. The first time a customer yelled at me, I cried lol. At my pharmacy, the pharmacist knows a lot of the patients so they're usually pretty kind to her but there are definitely customers/patients who are not above screaming at my pharmacist.
If you think about it, no matter what healthcare career you pursue, you will always have patients/customers screaming at you about one thing or the other. It's unavoidable in this industry. Just figure out ways to not let them get to you (tune out, take deep breaths, vent about them later to your co-workers). What may also help you is to speak with authority. Don't look or sound confused/not confident in what you're saying.