Should I Try For Some Transitionals, Or Just Go For Prelim Medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Llenroc

Bandidos Motorcycle Club
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a 3rd year medical student. I go to a top 50 ranked medical school, but I've made a number of mistakes a long the way and I'm probably in the bottom 20% of my class. My 3rd year clerkship grades aren't the greatest. My Step 1 was 218.

Fortunately for me, I'm thinking about going into PM&R, which is one of the least competetive specialties. However, you do have to do one year of transitional medicine/preliminary medicine/preliminary surgery before going into it.

People say that transitional year programs are even harder to get than Radiology residencies, and I'm definitely not competetive for a Radiology residency. Should I even bother with apps to Transitional year programs, or should I just focus on trying to get a Prelim Medicine spot?

That said, how hard is it to get Prelim Medicine spots? I haven't seen many figures on applications/acceptances.

Members don't see this ad.

You can always find a prelim med spot somewhere...

Transitionals are tough to get but worth the risk of wasting your $ applying IMHO. Not all transitionals are 'better' than prelim years so you should take a look at both. It's also easier to get great transitional years in unpopular cities. So being geographically flexible will work to your advantage. It's only $60 to apply to 10 and $140 to apply to 20. You might as well over-apply than under.

My understanding of the match is that most of the people who have to scramble end up doing so into Preliminary Medicine spots, correct? Are there any sort of statistics out there on how many Prelim Med spots don't get filled?

Members don't see this ad :)