Single parents and residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gordon Sims

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just curious how compatible psychiatry residencies (esp. the intern year) are with being a single parent raising a young school-age child. Can it be done?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm just curious how compatible psychiatry residencies (esp. the intern year) are with being a single parent raising a young school-age child. Can it be done?
Yes, I'm a psych resident and I know some residents who have done it. Certain programs are more family friendly than others though so try to investigate the programs you are thinking of ahead of applying.

This issue has been discussed. Past threads may be of assistance. Do a search on the forum's search tabs.

Repeating what I mentioned before and above, several programs are family friendly. Others may look at you with disdain knowing that you have responsibilities outside of work. Why? They know they might not be able to get as much work out of you. It's a combination of them wanting to get work out of residents, an old-school mentality that residency is about suffering, and a worry that at the worst moment where you're needed, you may have to leave work because your kid needs to go to the doctor.

A good program will be family friendly. Hardly any program will reveal themselves to not be family friendly because it's not PC. It's a glass ceiling. Some workplaces don't want to hire the guy with the long hair, but will not openly tell the person he was not hired because of it. They'll just send a nice letter saying something to the effect of "thanks" without mention of the hair--but the hair was the real reason.