Some general questions

GrantM

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I just finished my freshman year in high school about a month ago. I plan on being a surgeon. I just have a few general questions about a couple different things.

As I mentioned before, I just finished my freshman year. I did not get as good of grades as I should have (three B's and nine A's over both semesters), because I didn't work as hard as I should have. I take the highest level courses (honors, AP, and Pre AP) possible at my school, and plan on working much harder in the coming years. I have a little over a 4.0 GPA. My question is, have I already ruined a lot of oppurtunities for myself by messing up this year or will I be able to make up for it?

I plan on going to Emory University (for undergrad at least). From what I've read, Pre Med is NOT a major, correct? So if I plan to go to medical school, I am just a Pre Med student and major in something else (such as biology)?

Also, I don't really understand how medical school works. Do you take classes in the field you want to go into, or just general classes? And if you do take classes in your specific field, could anyone who has done it tell me what medical school is like for aspiring surgeons? What are some of the better medical schools for surgeons?

Do surgeons have to complete a yearlong surgical internship before completing their residency? Also, from reading a lot of threads here, it seems like most people do their residencies at university hospitals. Can you complete residencies at (I don't know what they would be called) "non-university" hospitals?

Also, I'm not sure what type of surgeon I would like to be. I'm debating between General Surgery, Neurosurgery, Cardiothoracic, or OB/GYN. I know I have plenty of time to decide, but I would just like an idea of what each is like. What are some differences between each?

Also, for anyone who is a surgeon, what is the lifestyle like?