Sophomore with 2.48 gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Velez

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore undergrad with a 2.48 gpa. I know it's ridiculously low. At the time I was dealing with the death of a sibling and the cancer diagnosis of my mother, who I'm the primary caretaker of. I've been interested in being a doctor for as long as I can remember. I've been doing volunteer work for years, and honestly enjoy helping others. My worry is that since my gpa is so low, I won't have a chance to get into med school. I'm currently a psych major, but will also start working on pre-med courses Spring 14'. Is there any hope for me?

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, there is hope, but the road to becoming a doctor won't be an easy one. You're going to need some serious, committed damage control to counter the effects of that low GPA, especially since med schools won't even look at apps. with a GPA less than 3.0. Seriously, a screening program will throw it out before human eyes even see it.

1. The easiest way to fix that GPA may be to see if your unique situation qualifies you for retroactive withdrawals from the courses in which you received a D or an F. Ideally, you should have taken a hiatus the moment these personal issues started to take their toll, but it's too late now. Still, considering there was a death and a major illness in the family, you may be able to pull off the retroactive withdrawals. If so, that's an instant GPA boost.

2. If you don't qualify for the retroactive withdrawal, you will have a better time of grade repair if you go DO, since osteopathic schools have a grade replacement policy and allopathic schools do not. If you apply to MD schools, they will average out ALL of your grades, even retakes. So, if you want/are willing to go DO, re-take all courses in which you received C's/D's/F's and voila, GPA repair!