Struggling with "What do you think your chances of being accepted into medical school are this year? Please explain your answer."

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JAK2-STAT3

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am struggling with this prompt. Per the GPA/MCAT grid, my chances of acceptance are 77.5%. I have 1000+ clinical hours, 50 shadowing hours, 400+ non-clinical volunteer hours, ~7000 research hours with 3 pubs, a top quartile CASPER score, and I would like to think I'm a decent writer. I hope I have a reasonable chance of being accepted, but per the GPA/MCAT grid there is a 22.5% chance I won't be accepted, and I feel like the prompt suggests that this should be addressed as well. I am not sure how to discuss holes in my app without drawing attention to negatives. The word limit is 600 words so it seems like they want details. Here are some reasons I might not be accepted:
  • I have plenty of research experience but left my research job. I'm afraid I'll have too much research for non-research focused schools, while research heavy schools will consider it a red flag that I left research. I won't fit anybody's mission and won't get in
  • I have only lived in my state of residence for 8 months (12 needed for residency). In state schools won't think I'm sufficiently in-state so I will be stateless and not get in
  • I did a DIY post bac but do not have an LOR from a professor--I have a committee letter from my undergrad (I'm a 2018 grad)
  • During said DIY post bac I only did 4 credits (1 class) per semester while working full time
  • Lack of community service in undergrad
  • I hope to practice in a rural area and while I live in one now, my service to rural communities is all within the last several months. I am not from a rural area.
  • Perhaps I just won't click with interviewers or interview poorly and not get in anywhere