Other OT-Related Information Student Loan Debt = Horrifying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gOT2beOT

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I am sort of freaking out right now as I was just accepted to my top choice program but all I can see now are $$$$.

I graduated with around 88,000 in debt from undergrad. I went to a state school but the cost of living was high and I was very foolish not to work as much as possible. I have 20,000 of federal student loans being forgiven through a student loan forgiveness program over the next 8 years. My payments about $700/mo now with a job where I make around 37k a year, and I have no issues.

The program I am about to attend will cost 93,488 for the entire duration + the additional fees. This is not including the cost of living. I will also need to take out some money for living expenses such as housing, food, gas, etc. I plan to live very frugally but has anyone else found themselves in this situation? My student loan debt will be around 200,000 all said and done if I take out what I think I may need for living expenses while in the program.

Any advice or insight as to what to expect post grad with these loan payments? Im starting to get nervous here.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in a similar situation. I'm finishing up undergrad right now and will have about 50,000 in both federal and private loans for that, and that's just the principal. The OTD program I will be attending will end up being around 132,000 for the whole program. However, I will be continuing to live with my parents and commuting so there won't be any living expenses.