Student Loans - How to

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stoltzfus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergraduate junior that will be taking the MCAT in January and applying to medical school in 2014. Despite the cost of my private research college, I have managed to pay for the first 5 semesters without loans outside of federal aid. However, for this year the school dropped 8k of aid per semester, so now I am in a bind and need to take out a loan. My parents are financially stable and willing to help, but do not intend to pay for my schooling directly. I would appreciate advice to one particular issue: what loan makes repayment the most viable? I am currently not worried about fees and interest rates. I believe I can wade through that information myself. However, I am unfamiliar with how I can go about paying back the loan.

Approach: In theory I could take a loan directly from a relative, my parents could take out the loan on their line of credit, or the loan could be under my name with my parents cosigning. My biggest concern here is the viability of paying off the loan. I know that hospitals commonly provide assistance in paying off school debt. Are their guidelines as to what they will help pay off? Does it need to be under my name? Specifically a student loan? (and so forth)

Thanks in advance for any direction you can provide me.

Members don't see this ad.

I know that hospitals commonly provide assistance in paying off school debt.

This is not true in the slightest; You will be lucky to receive reimbursement for relocation from hospitals in BFE.

This is not true in the slightest; You will be lucky to receive reimbursement for relocation from hospitals in BFE.

I've heard of some primary care groups offering loan repayment, but often where people don't want to be...