Suggestions on School List for an Engineer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dfogt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a rising senior Chemical engineer and I'm thinking of going for biomedical eng. for my PhD. I think I read somewhere that most schools don't particularly want engineering PhDs, but hopefully some do. Let me know if there are any schools I should consider adding or completely forgetting about.

3.9 GPA
38 MCAT
Plenty of shadowing and good LORs
Decent service, but no medical related
Strong leadership roles: president of my fraternity, EC positions in other major clubs
Here's my biggest worry. I have a year and counting doing some sustainability type research, but it's only dry lab stuff. I also worked at the Fort Wayne Branch of Indiana School of Medicine doing stroke research, but it was only for about a month. Now I don't have any pubs in either, but I was actually conducting real meaningful research (not just lab tech stuff) and I have a firm grasp on what I was doing, so I hope that helps me.

Also, I probably won't be able to submit for at least another week, so I might not get verified all that early, but is it really THAT important if I'm not super late?

Anyway, here's that schools I have so far:
Baylor
Case (have a LOR from an MD from Case that used to be an engineer)
Columbia
Drexel
Duke
Emory
Dartmouth
Indiana (resident and aforementioned research)
Hopkins
MC Wisconsin
Northwestern
Penn St
Penn
Stanford
Ohio State
U Alabama
U Colorado
U Illinois
U Michigan
U Pitt
U Wisconsin
Vandy
Wake Forest
Yale

So far I've already removed Harvard because they require LORs from all research advisers and I only have one, and U Washington because I heard they don't take many out of state.

Any advice would be great. I'm kind of on my own at this. My school doesn't produce a lot of doctors so an adviser is virtually non existent and I don't really know any other premeds.