Summer Internships/Research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nls52

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a Freshman in college, and I am really trying to do something proactive this summer towards getting into medical school. I would really like to do one of the SMDEP programs, but the odds seem stacked against freshmen, as it is a first come first serve basis and a transcript is required to complete the application, which I will not have until after this semester (about two months after the application opens). I have searched for similar internships and research opportunities, but for most of them, freshmen are either ineligible or there are residency/certain school requirements. What I am asking for is a little bit of guidance on options for this summer. I can't meet with my premed advisor until February which seems too late for these kinds of things. I consider myself a strong applicant for research programs and internships, as I anticipate having a 3.7-4.0 after this semester, have an underprivileged background, and my mother died from cancer about a month ago. Thank you for any response!

Members don't see this ad.

I consider myself a strong applicant for research programs and internships, as I anticipate having a 3.7-4.0 after this semester, have an underprivileged background, and my mother died from cancer about a month ago.
Those are not real qualifications for any internship (i.e., job). You also don't have your actual grades yet, don't be so quick to jump to conclusions; first semester college can bite you in the ass any time. Also this sucks, but no one cares about your mom dying in this context. I am sorry to hear that and it must be hard to deal with at your age, but that doesn't make you a strong candidate for anything.