Switch from PA to pre med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EMDream

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore in a BS PA program. I started my college career with the idea of going to medical school, but I somewhere second guessed myself and thought, when would I have time to raise a family? The idea of being in school until my thirties, (I am 22 now) was something that made me think I would be limited in a family respect so I researched PA school and at the last minute (and I do mean last, i interviewed in april and started in september) applied to one and got accepted. So I jsut finished my first semester in the program technically thirs year of school. But everytime I watch trauma, read anything medically related or think of my future I found myself feeling like I'm falling short and that my ultimate goal is still to be a doctor. So Winter break is almost over and I'm really labouring over my decision. I looked up the biology degree requirements at my school and I could realistically be done in a year and a half including this next semester. So I'm giving myself a few more days to pour over this before I email the chair of biology to discuss a change of major. I also wonder if I could get physics 1 done this semester and take physics 2 in the summer in time to take the August 2005 mcat. The only other prereq that is absolutely necessary for me to go into the mcat with is organic 2 which i can take this semester as well.

So I guess I'm just looking for any thoughts and opinions. Suggestions. I think I know in my heart switching to PA was a knee jerk reaction to my fears about career dominating my life and having no room for children.