switching from psychology major to behavioral neuroscience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kappacookie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello friends, i'm going to be a senior this fall, and i am seriously considering becoming a psychiatrist, which of course means that i need to apply to med school. BUT i am a psych student so i don't have the necessary science classes. do you think it would be a wise idea to switch into neuroscience, and take most of what i need even if it would mean i have to delay graduation by a semester or two? or should i just graduate with my psych degree and then go into a post-bacc program.

your opinion is appreciated! :D

Members don't see this ad.

I vote for "graduate and then attend a post bacc program."

Seems much more logical.

However, if switching majors would take less time than a post bacc, do that.

Members don't see this ad :)
hello friends, i'm going to be a senior this fall, and i am seriously considering becoming a psychiatrist, which of course means that i need to apply to med school. BUT i am a psych student so i don't have the necessary science classes. do you think it would be a wise idea to switch into neuroscience, and take most of what i need even if it would mean i have to delay graduation by a semester or two? or should i just graduate with my psych degree and then go into a post-bacc program.

Well................ The ideal solution is to travel back in time and major in Biochem, premed or any medical science. But, you could always go back and take on MORE DEBT.

^^^...and/or less money...
Ditto this.