Taking a 1-year LOA from HPSP for an MPH or MSc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ieatpizza

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an Army HPSP student soon to start 3rd year. I'm considering taking a 1-year leave of absence to obtain an MSc or MPH degree after third year before returning for my final year of med school. I've met one person who has done this, but haven't been able to contact her about how she did it. Any advice on the chances of being granted a LOA?

I'm going to try to apply for grants and fellowships (i.e. Zuckerman fellowship at Harvard, Fulbright grant for study in the U.K.) because I don't want to take out loans. Does it make a difference if you're taking loans out for the degree or whether you've got a grant/scholarship? Also, any chance the Army will pay for the degree (unlikely, but just asking)?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

There have been many posts about this issue, do a search and you may find people with more insight than I.
I question the wisdom of doing a program like that before you start you payback. I don't think it will be all that useful in your initial payback, and it's in your best interest to study that just before you put it into practice.
If you wait until your obligation is done, you can apply the GI bill to pay for it. If you decide to stay in past your obligation, you may be able to get the Army to pay for it as part of a prev med or aerospace medicine residency. I was told by the guy who runs the Navy RAM program that you can do the MPH whereever you choose. Even though the military puts a cap on what they will pay for that degree, well endowed schools like Havad will dip into their endowment for the difference if you are funded by the government.