Taking a leave of absence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

onehandedred

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a junior at UCLA where I major in History. After volunteering at a vet clinic for some time at my home town, I decided to pursue the veterinary field, though unfortunately I had this change of heart a bit late. Anyways, I want to start doing my prereqs but I feel that I think it would be better for me do my lower divs at a community college which I feel is a better environment to learn. The problem is I am a transfer student already and taking some time off to return to my old community college after I had already transferred seems like something that may hurt my chances in the future. Do any of you folks have any advice? Readmission process is quite simple according to my counselor so I would have no problem returning to UCLA, but would this be a bad move for my future?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think anyone can answer this question definitively. You can talk to UC Davis (if that is your IS school) and see if they will answer for you.

To me, this will look like something that will be a red flag and you will have to explain it in your "explanation" section on the app. Switching back and forth between community college and a UC school is not every day. The problem is that your explanation here is not going to reassure any admissions personnel. If you "learn better" in a community college environment, what makes you think you can learn well at vet school? This is a legitimate concern, and you will need a much better answer in the future to improve your chances I would think.

Still, I would check with UCD and see what they think.