Taking Remedial Coursework Online

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ccrose

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would really appreciate some advice on this because my advisor is not super clear. I am an international student that studied in the US, and want to know if there is any way to make up a bad grade in a pre-req that I have already taken. I have already graduated, so can't do the "A+ in Biochem to make up for C in Orgo" route. I'm currently in the EU.

I have two questions:

1. Is there any point in taking an online Biochem/Bio-orgo course? Will that new grade factor into my GPA?

2. It's unlikely that I can go back to US till I get an interview invitation letter, but I would be able to do summer classes with an F1 visa. Do those matter/are worth it for courses that you have already taken? I would be retaking Biochem.

This is tricky because I really want to make up that C in Biochem (a B/B+ in bio-orgo did orgo didn't help either). Multiple people have told me not to do with an SMP with a 3.4s GPA so would love any advice on if there is any chance to make things up or if this is a lost cause @ this point.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
While AMCAS will not evaluate an overseas course nor will it be part of your GPA. However, you can list the course on AMCAS so schools can see it. Furthermore, some schools will accept a foreign course as fulfilling a prereq. If you have done all your other coursework in US, then you have a good probability of getting this accepted at prematriculation. You can certainly apply to schools without having completed this course. The MSAR lists when you must complete the course by in order to matriculate.

Dont bother with online biochem. Most schools will not take it and the MSAR will show you that as well

This should not keep you from applying nor from being accepted