Taking two classes P/NP to avoid A-?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureMDdoc

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman who is taking two courses (not prereq) that I am in danger of getting an A- (though I might get an A). Would taking a P look like a C if I have a 4.0 (mostly A+'s) for the rest of my courses? How would it impact my app? One course is an upper div math course and the other is a programming course.

Members don't see this ad.

Would two P's in non-prereq courses have any negative impact when adcoms look at my transcript?

Reactions: 1 user
Yes -A is completely close the door to Medschool, you should consider changing your major

• Haha
Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I guess I will just take the letter grade then. Time to remove that 4.00 from my resume :(

I'm a freshman who is taking two courses (not prereq) that I am in danger of getting an A- (though I might get an A). Would taking a P look like a C if I have a 4.0 (mostly A+'s) for the rest of my courses? How would it impact my app? One course is an upper div math course and the other is a programming course.
It will impact your application exactly like a C would -- probably not at all since it's only two classes, but your 4.0 will definitely have an asterisk next to it. What is an adcom supposed to think? That your Ps are also As, or that they are the lowest grade possible? If they are conservative, they will assume the worst. This should be obvious to you!

The assumption is NOT that your P is just like all of the other grades that you didn't mask -- they assume you are hiding something (because, after all, you are!), and you would be very foolish to hide A-s because you think you are gaming your GPA to maintain a 4.0. Adcoms are not stupid, and this (taking classes P/F to hide less than desirable grades) has been going on long before COVID.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users