Technology in Eyecare/IAUPR thoughts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheREALoptometrist2015

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'd like other Optometrists and optometry students thoughts on this. NECO just posted on FB a video showing their updated clinical training center with all new up to date equipment. I know other schools also have state of the art clinic training areas. Do you believe that having these advancements or at the very least some form of updated clinical equipment is essential to prepare students to be better optometrists by keeping up with industry, and helps Professors teach clinical skills better? How was it at your school?
I graduated from IAUPR a few years back and there is no form of truly up to date technology in our pre-clinical training center, we get literally a 30-45min training on how to run OCTs (of which there is only 1 at the school and 1 at an ancillary clinic) We have old diagnostic equipment that was never once even turned on in the 4 yrs I was there, probably not since I left either. I know the perception most have of the school and its students. There are so many posts from current and past students that are so unbelievably unhappy with their clinical education at IAUPR and I feel it might be because we see and hear that every other school seem to be making a greater investment in their students by having the latest and greatest tech and their students are well versed on how to run and interrupt results from these various dx testing and IAUPR students feel like they are stuck with crap. We feel like we missed out on a critical piece of the puzzle and end up behind when we enter our field in comparison to other new grads. DO you feel it is an essential part of clinical education and training, are IAUPR students justified in the feelings about the clinical education we're receiving? Id like honest thoughts on this. I know the school took a hit with the hurricane