Terrible cGPA w/ First Degree but Dramatic Upswing w/ Post-Bac

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AspiringDoc2015

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I posted something similar to this several months ago but I wanted to update the numbers now that I am done with the Post-Bac. I know this may be a little lengthy and I apologize, but I want to give all the facts and be completely open. I graduated from Vanderbilt University in the spring 2012 with an awful GPA of 2.31. The second month of my freshman year I was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease and absolutely no medication I was put on worked. Throughout my four years I stayed in remission maybe 2-3 months out of each year. For those that do not know, Crohn's is a GI autoimmune disorder that causes pain, severe cramping, and, in my case, severe anemia and fatigue. Because of this medical issue my grades dropped fast. I went from all A's on my first few exams to solid C. By my sophomore year I knew it was best to give up on my dream of becoming a doctor and focus on graduating with a degree and focus on my health. I decided to switch my major to political science and miraculously did graduate on time. A week after graduation I was placed on a new drug which has kept my disease in complete remission ever since. I am honestly a completely different person. However, this also caused me to become very depressed; if this drug had only been available 4 years before then, I would likely be preparing to go to medical school. As the weeks went by and my chosen law school's orientation date approached, the more I realized I could not go through with it. Two weeks before moving for law school I withdrew my seat and decided to throw all my chips in one more ditch effort to go to med school.