The MCAT has changed (harsh reality check)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BerkReviewTeach

Company Rep for now-defunct Course & Bad Singer
Vendor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I did the same thing you are about to do. I studied everything hard but neglected OChem a bit. Got wrecked on my July 18 test date. >75% of my questions were OChem related in some way. I probably got 5-10 questions total that were gen chem and physics related.

The quote above is just one of a few which show an element of surprise about the new MCAT that can be found in the threads making up the first few pages at SDN (as of today at least). Having been doing MCAT preparation for quite a while, I have observed a sine wave that follows student attitudes and test trends. Right now it seems that the test is harder than what many test takers are expecting. While the MCAT may be harder now than a year ago (I personally believe this is the case), I think the problem is compounded by the average student preparing for (hoping for) an easier MCAT. From what I read in current SDN posts, this has been a bad combination.

Admittedly, I have been away from SDN for around ten months (making an occasional one-day drive by), so I'm diving back in a bit blind. The names I recognized as regulars have gone away and new ones are here. So I will spend more time reading than posting for a few weeks before getting into some threads. But I really want to address the disparity between expectations and reality that appears to be the current norm.