Thinking of becoming an AA ... Any opinoins

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tropicaledit

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new to this field and I'm giving some thought to becoming an AA.

About myself: I'm currently 41 and would be applying to a program in about 2 + years from now. I've a Bachelors degree in the Film/Television (GPA 2.75 ish) I know the GPA is not good. I achieved a certain level of success in the film/Telvision industry. Worked on feature films/documentaries/National Commercials/Networks. Now I'm seriously considering a career change. This is partly because my best friend is a Cardiologist and has sparked my interest in the medical field.

My concern is, obviously there would be alot of science related pre-requistes I'd have to take and do well with. Lets say I do this and do acceptable on the GRE/MCAT. My question is, when applying to an AA program, is being accepted into a program as difficult as say, being accepted into Medical School?

What characteristics in an applicant are they looking for? How tough is
it to get into one of these programs. I would hate to put in 2 years of studying only to be rejected at the point of applying to the program.

Also, I was wodering if there were some AA's out there that could give they're opinion on the career.

All replies appreciated - Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Anesthesiologist's Assistants: basically an anesthetist with a science background (more or less pre-med requirements) instead of nursing background (CRNA's).

There are 3 schools- Emory, Case Western, South University-Savannah? More are expected to open due to the shortage of anesthetists.

Make the same money as a CRNA(supervised CRNA) but need supervision by an anesthesiologist.

Think of it like a PA for anesthesiologists.