Time for me to give up medicine? Please give me some feedback.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seh5408

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello anyone,

I'm a sophomore history major with the intention of going to medical school. But I'm having some serious doubts. I took bio last semester and got an A without to much of a struggle. However I honestly don't know if I really enjoyed it.. I enjoyed the challenge of studying for it and thinking scientifically but often times I would find myself nodding off in class.

Anyways I'm currently taking first year chemistry and I can't stand it. I'm not surprised because I have always hated math and hated chemistry in high school. I don't find it interesting at all. Again I sort of enjoy the challenge, but unlike bio I really feel overwhelmed. I just sat down to try to do homework problems and didn't really even know where to begin.

So I'm really starting to doubt if medicine is right for me. I'm naturally really good at history, poli sci, philosophy, and writing (don't judge me from the hastiness of this post). And I do enjoy those classes.

But I kind of feel like a failure giving up pre med. Deciding on becoming a doctor was really organic for me, no one ever encouraged me to do it but I still started wanting to in high school. I love helping people and I absolutely love that doctors don't just sit at desks in front of computers all day. A job like that is what I fear most.

And its not about the money either. I could become a lawyer and take over my dad's successful practice and make more than I ever would as a doctor with half the effort but I have no desire for that.