Timing of Boards and Residency Length

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

johnangles

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi all, looking for advice. So I'm a resident and ever since i started it has been terrible. program is good and we aren't abused but I've never been more depressed and hopeless about the future. Im too pot committed to leave now. I realize the grass is greener but if everything is really worse than this then I'm in trouble. I just have not been satisfied or interested in the work; we aren't supposed to be technicians but thats all it feels we are. none of our attendings seem happy or enthusiastic, very few of our residents seem so. Same with all the non-physician staff. Maybe its an academic thing? I feel stripped of my enthusiasm, creativity, youth. I understand the utility of finishing, though I can not see myself practicing at this point, but is there any way to decompress how long it takes to finish all the certifications?

Members don't see this ad.

So sorry you are feeling this way. I think Rad Onc is a wonderful field though it clearly is not a fit for everybody.

The most expedient way to get certified is like so:

1. End of PGY-4: take Clinical Physics and Radiobiology Written Boards
2. End of PGY-5: take Clinical Oncology Written Boards
3. One year after graduation: take Oral Boards in Louisville, KY
4. MOC (maintenance of certification) exams every 10 years (Written)

If you'd like to delay your Clinical Physics and Radiobiology Written Boards, you can take them with your Clinical Oncology Written Boards at the end of residency. However, it would be challenging to study for all three exams simultaneously.