Tips on how to get into research...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

markelmarcel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Wasn't sure what I really wanted to call the title of my post, so hopefully people read this... I am interested in improving patient care and moving into some research/academia as part of my career at some point. However, I was wondering if anyone had any pointers on how to introduce yourself to various people that may be doing research, and thus become involved in their research. For instance, I have thought about trying to come up with a question on patient care/outcomes that are used in my clinic and then asking my professor from PT school if she would help me with a small research study (as I'm local to where I graduated). Or, I know that there are other schools in the area that would undoubtedly have people doing research... how does one go about saying, "Hey! I want to do research with you!" when you don't know the person?

Members don't see this ad.

The easiest thing to do is to contact your old PT professors. They always need (unpaid) help in their research, be it crunching numbers, searching literature, contacting patients for follow-ups, etc. They already know you and you know them. You may even get your name on one of their papers. Pick one that does research in an area that you like.

Reactions: 1 user
If you want to do research get a phd. To be capte accredited half the faculty needs to have a research doctorate. Other positions are available like ccce but they are less involved in research typically. Sucks to get more schooling but it's def the easiest way to get into that field.

Members don't see this ad :)