Too late to switch from premed to prevet?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Morgan23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. In advanced, I really appreciate any and all advice concerning this as I am relatively new to the pre-vet process as a college senior.

Throughout high school I had dreamed of being a Vet which led me to apply to Cornell's undergrad animal science program. Ultimately, I did not get in early decision which resulted in me scrambling for schools my senior year of HS. The college where I ended up at lacked any sort of animal related program and I eventually became a Neuroscience major and set out on the pre-med path.

As a Neuroscience major, I completed a hundred of MD shadowing hours, several hundred hospital volunteering hours, and 4 hands on internships in medicine. I also have a year of clinical research with one publication in a neurology journal. (I am mentioning this not to be braggy, but, just to give everyone an idea of what I have been doing with my time). I am currently a senior (completely finished with general bio/physics/chemistry/organic courses) and have a 3.9 cumulative GPA. Although I have a lot of experience in medicine, over the past year I have started to really, really have second thoughts - wondering 'what if' I had continued down the pre-vet path.

Animals have been a huge part of my life growing up... but I know how outrageously competitive vet schools can be (especially compared to med schools) so I am hesitant to even try to apply since I lack really any formal animal experience (I was told this was even the reason I was rejected from Cornell's undergrad program actually and I have not done much else since then). Besides doting over my family dogs (my favorite activity... but not really an extracurricular), all I have is 15 years experience as an equestrian, including 3 years (coming on my 4th) on my college's IHSA equestrian show team.