Transferring from Community College to University

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jdrod94

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm currently in my 4th semester at a community college. However during my time here, I feel that I'm a bit behind in my courses. So far I've only taken a full year of General Biology along with General Chemistry (University Orientated) and my gen ed courses. I've always struggled with math so during my first here at CC, I had to take preparatory courses in order to take College Algebra and Trig. I've yet to take any Calculus or Psychics courses along with Organic chemistry, all of which I know are necessary courses in order to get into Optometry School.
I decided to major in Biology, but I've been planning to transfer into a University (University of Illinois at Chicago) during Fall 2015. The deadline for applications to UIC is at March 31st, I've completed part of my application but I have not sent it in yet. I have a 3.0 GPA from my time at CC, and I was wondering if should actually apply to the University as a Biology major, but I'm a bit skeptical on being accepted with that Major. Should I major in something else instead?
I know most Pre- Optometry students major in Biology, so that's why I chose to do it.
Any advice would be helpful thank you. At this point my main concern is being accepted into UIC.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey there!