UCLA vs. UCI vs. UCSD for Pre-med Undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Where should I go?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

DrDesire93

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a transfer Chemistry major student who got into UCLA, UCSD and UCI. I talked to couple counselors/peers yet still I do not have a strong or specific reason to go to one school than others. I visited the campus but one day is not enough for me to know much about the schools.

UCLA:
- Great reputation + many opportunities.
- GPA killer? Super rigorous and competitive?
- Difficult to make connection with the professor + not much advising
- I did lean towards LA at first then I talked to some students and all of them suggest that I would go to different school to maintain high GPA for med school (one even told me that 3.4 at UCLA is extremely hard)

UCSD:
- Perfect location and weather
- High reputation yet less competitive than LA?
- Students and staff are friendly (at least those I interacted on campus tour and counseling)
- I don't have a chance to know about the academic environment at SD so anyone, please gives me insight

UCI:
- Close to home + safe city
- Growing reputation
- I can still get some classes at my CC when I go there (and even help from my former professors)

Since I want to pursue med school, I am willing to study my hardest to survive. My goal is to keep my GPA to at least get into the school (not being auto-screen out). Will being smart factor out the success in UCs? What is the appropriate study habit in those sciences classes? My CC study habit can be considered as hard-working (I keep practicing the problems until I got it).
My thoughts are all over the places right now so any insights/suggestions/recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Also anyone who is deciding on the schools are also welcomed.

Members don't see this ad.