UNECOM vs Rosalind Franklin

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Don'tStopMeNow

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! Just looking for some opinions, facts, and overall impressions as I do my own research into choosing an acceptance.

So, this year (third attempt! woo!) I finally managed to grab a handful of acceptances. The two that I've narrowed it down to are Rosalind Franklin and UNECOM. Now, my situation.

I'm currently a Minnesota resident, so I am familiar with the Midwest. Still, I don't really think distance matters too much either way (not like I'm going home each weekend, eh?) so even though I own a car, travel to and from my family from school is not that much of a factor). I've traveled all over the US though, so while I like both areas I admit I have a bias for rural areas (more on that later). Both would be warmer.

So, as far as MD vs DO... I'm all ears on opinions, but I admit that DO may provide additional advantages in my case (interested in Rural medicine, thinking seriously of applying for the national health scholarship dealie) so those are fairly neck and neck. I don't put much stock in OMM, but I also don't put much stock in standardized testing strategies while working for Princeton Review (basically, I'm willing to put up with it). I also know it matters more how I apply myself than any title... so not a huge deal.

Most of my shadowing and volunteering experience has been in rural areas and I'd be interested in IM (likely specializing after some time).

First impressions: Both are similar in price. UNECOM has a stronger community feel (students routinely share all their notes). Rosalind Franklin seems to have more options if I choose to avoid the rural route.

So, any chance I could get some help?

Members don't see this ad.

take rosalind franklin and run with it.