Unemployed Pathologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eagle Eye

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't understand why I cannot get a job. I am a really good, solid surgical pathologist. I had been working at a very busy private practice for about 3 years and was providing excellent service. I have no malpractice claims agains me, no major errors committed in 3 years, and most of the clinicians i worked with spoke very highly of me. At my previous job (for three years) the partners in the group kept telling me, "it's a done deal, we are going to make you partner." However, when the partners voted, the chairman of the group told everyone that "certain corporation bylaws" gave him "complete veto power" and that no matter how anyone voted, he would make sure that I would not be making partner and I was going to be let go. This guy is a total control freak and his animosity toward me stems from not performing hep C bone marrow biopsies in his place (even though I had only done one previously), speaking up when I was asked to "absorb all the call" from a retiring parter and getting along too well with the clinicians at my satellite hospital.

Anyway, they did not renew my contract and I have been searching for a job since January. I am glad I'm out of there because i was starting to get paranoid that i was being sabotaged by the managing partner. I have had a few interviews but no job offers. I think there are two reasons for this; one, it sounds fishy to say "they didn't make me a partner so I left" and two, I haven't worked since January, most people ask why. My answer is "because I CANT FIND A JOB!" I guess I don't want to say that my previous managing partner is a sociopath. Even though it's true, I think prospective employers don't want to hear that.