Unfavorable Situation: Premed Needs Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mrlucky0

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
In short, here is my situation/profile:

I am 2 semesters away from graduation ( about 25 more credits to take ).

Cumulative GPA: 3.25

EC's: 1/2 Year Volunteer + Paid Internship Research , Currently starting a 1 year (commitment) internship at a hospital Neurological Research Lab

I'm currently taking the Princeton Review (TPR) so I'm supposed to take the MCAT in August.

I am a Arizona resident and my #1 priority is to be accepted to University of Arizona Phoenix/Tuscon.

Now I certainly know, that my accomplishments isn't going to get me anywhere at this point, which is why I am seriously considering applying to a 2 year graduate M.S. program at my school. Based on this curriculum, I am confident, and I foresee that I will be able to maintain a ~3.80 graduate GPA.

Regarding the 1 year internship commitment, my academic adviser's words were "not to spread myself too thinly." - exactly what I thought about before I committed. This is a great opportunity cost for me in terms of seeking out other internships.

When I mentioned to her that there would be a possibility of publication, she immediately changed her mind, "if you get a paper published, you should apply...." Assuming that my research does culminate in a publication I seriously have my doubts though. Why do you guys think? Could I have done better?

Another dilemma: I take the MCAT in August following TPR and then enroll in the M.S. program, which takes 2 years to complete. After 2 years, I have about 1 year to be accepted to med school before my MCAT score expires. Is this sufficient time to does whatever else I need to do (more EC's, more courses) to better my profile?

Should I just take the MCAT at a later date and treat the TPR as a prep course? I could always self-study again right?