URMs in SMPs, Caribbean Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cometstarg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I sort of have several questions please bear with me. I've basically been told to either stay an extra year in college (take more classes, do well in them), apply to SMPs, or try my luck with the Caribbean (Ross, AUC, SGU, Saba) and see if I can get into a pre-med school program at Ross or AUC to try and do well in.

I've been reading up on SMPs while considering my options and I've decided it's started to look like the way to go. I'm a rising senior in undergrad with a <3.0 oGPA/sGPA (bad, I know) and won't take the MCAT until July/August. So far I've been looking into NJMS (and RWJ), NYMC, Hampton, Western Uni of Health Sciences and Temple. Does anyone have any experience applying to these with a low GPA (or know anyone that has)? Aside from explaining my GPA, what kind of MCAT score do you think I would need to stand a chance? Are there any other decent programs you've heard of that I would qualify for?

Because my GPA is so low I've also considered spending an extra semester/year in undergrad taking upper level science classes to raise it. I'm a sociology major, so I still have plenty of science classes to choose from should I stay longer. Despite how low my GPA is, I have had an upward trend that should continue now that I've started getting serious.

As for the Caribbean, I'm all for trying it out, but I'm wondering if it would make more sense to just attempt the SMP first. That way I can find out if I'm really not cut out for this without having to go to another country, and as expensive as it would be it would still be cheaper than paying for med school.

Sorry for all of that. Anyone have any opinions/advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: