US-IMG: Chances of matching to an FM residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hm01

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all
30M
Living in the UK. Family Medicine resident and due to become a UK GP (UK FM Attending) in Summer 2024.
US Citizen
Step 1 - 240 (done in 2017)
Graduated 2018 (UK med school)
No US clinical experience

Currently revising for 2CK

If I get a reasonable 2CK score and apply widely, what do you think my chances are of matching to an FM residency? It has been a few years since I graduated but I have been working as a doctor since graduation in a residency programme with no time off.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Why would you apply to FM residency in the US?

The American Board of Family Medicine has a pathway for UK trained GP attendings to get board certified and licensed.

You could save yourself the headache.

Get a medical license in one of the states that accepts UK training e.g. Maine, Oregon etc. Then apply for a green card with a EB-2 NIW or a H1b and find a job at a academic center.

Read Below:

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Why would you apply to FM residency in the US?

The American Board of Family Medicine has a pathway for UK trained GP attendings to get board certified and licensed.

You could save yourself the headache.

Get a medical license in one of the states that accepts UK training e.g. Maine, Oregon etc. Then apply for a green card with a EB-2 NIW or a H1b and find a job at a academic center.

Read Below:

Well, he is a US Citizen, so no need for green card or another visa

I didn't know this pathway existed. I wonder what stops someone from just going to the UK after undergrad and becoming a doctor there and coming back here. If you have the grades to get into a good undergrad, you should be able to get into a UK school as a foreign student. Anyone care to comment? Maybe it's harder to get into medicine as foreign student than I imagine