VA hospital job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

math123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!,
I dont know if this is a correct place to post this or not but I am currently a intern in internal medicine and I am really interested in working at the VA clinic as a PCP after i graduate residency. I was wondering how hard is it to get a VA job in PCP right after residency and is it hard to qualify for the loan forgivness program that they have as well ( EDRP). Thank you everyone! I appreciate your time!

Members don't see this ad.

I can't speak to difficulty getting the job, but the posting that you would apply for must have EDRP listed as one of the incentives. Not all jobs/locations come with that incentive.

I am looking at likely working VA after my active duty time. I'm psychiatry so can't necessarily speak to primary care but from what I can tell, seems VA are pretty regularly looking for physicians especially PCP and MH. It does need to specify EDRP which mental health is a high need specialty and many of the job listings have my specialty listed as EDRP. I wouldn't be surprised that many primary care positions are EDRP as well.

Members don't see this ad :)