vet fears

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

largle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
im a vet student with a few concerns. Firstly, I have a somewhat phobia of worms, i dont mind learning about them... but do u actually see them/exposed to them very often in small animal practice? E.g. In surgery. Secondly, are vets in small animal practice on their feet all day? Or can they have a stool to sit on in surgery and consults. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

im a vet student with a few concerns. Firstly, I have a somewhat phobia of worms, i dont mind learning about them... but do u actually see them/exposed to them very often in small animal practice? E.g. In surgery. Secondly, are vets in small animal practice on their feet all day? Or can they have a stool to sit on in surgery and consults. Thanks

Worms: I can't say that (working as a tech) I actually saw worms more than once or twice. That being said, it is not at all uncommon to find eggs on a fecal float, and know that they are there even though you can't see the adult worms.

As for being on your feet all day, yes, you will be on your feet most of the day, and I don't think I've ever worked in a facility that had stools for surgery or exams. Doctors would usually sit down for consults that were outside of exams (ie. owner is picking up the animal after having been dropped off all day), but not while talking to owners in the exam room during an office visit. I would say if you work from 8 am to 6 pm in a standard clinic, expect to be on your feet at least 6.5 to 7 of those 10 hours.

Our anatomy dog had a gut full of hookworms... ewwww! :laugh:

Members don't see this ad :)
You will see tapeworm segments pretty commonly and roundworms occasionally. If you are a bit squeamish it's OK -- I can't stand maggots myself. But if you're going to run out of the room screaming, that will be more of a problem.