This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Green22

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a sophomore in undergrad, and I am volunteering on a senate campaign (Republican in Alabama). I am wondering if this is something that would be good to put as volunteer experience on applications when I apply to med school in the future or not?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am a sophomore in undergrad, and I am volunteering on a senate campaign (Republican in Alabama). I am wondering if this is something that would be good to put as volunteer experience on applications when I apply to med school in the future or not?

Thanks.
I'm a firm believer in civics, and involvement in politics is rare amongst pre-meds. So by all means, list it. Be prepared for flak from the SJWs though.

Reactions: 5 users
I dunno; Republicans in Alabama seem to be having a bad year

Alabama has earned the "triple crown" of scandal with all three branches in scandal at the same time and bonus for looping in both the state AG and US Senate. At one point the scandalized Governor was being investigated scandalized speaker of the house for possible impeachment that would have been overseen in trial by the scandalized chief justice. And the scandalized governor gets rid of the state AG who is investigating him by appointing him to a US Senate seat

1) Governor Robert Bentley was forced to resigned after having a long-time affair with a political consultant on the state payroll. His wife of nearly 50 years has filed for divorce. So much for family values
2) Before the above resigned, he appointed Luther Bell, the Alabama Attorney General who was investigating the corruption above to the US Senate filling Jeff Sessions seat. So much for the investigation