MD WAMC 1st Post. 505 MCAT cGPA 3.91 sGPA 3.92

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

urhuese15

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a longtime SDN lurker and this is my first time posting. I am trying to compile a list of medical schools to apply to and I am completely lost, maybe because I am still waiting on my MCAT score. I took the MCAT in Aug 2015 and will not receive my score until September. But I am dead-set on applying this 2016 cycle as I am currently in a combined degree program and already have conditional acceptance to two medical schools. I am an URM (Black, African) female, TX resident with the aforementioned GPA. My current list of medical schools is much too long (about 70 schools) and needs narrowing down. So far, I am considering:

Albert Einstein
Baylor
Boston University
Case Western Reserve
Columbia
Duke
Emory
Dartmouth
George Washington
Georgetown
Harvard
Howard
Mt. Sinai
Johns Hopkins
Cornell
Mayo
Northwestern
Perelman at UPenn
Rush
Stanford
Stony Brook
Temple
Texas A&M
Texas Tech
UTHSCSA
Warren-Alpert at Brown
Tufts
Tulane
Buffalo State
University of Arizona
UC Davis
UC Irvine
UC David Geffen
UC San Diego
UC San Francisco
U of Chicago - Pritzker
University of Hawaii
Rochester
UTMB Galveston
UTH at Houston
UT Southwestern
Vanderbilt
Washington University at St. Louis
Yale
Harvard...

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Sept is really late. I recommend holding off until the next cycle.

Without an MCAT score, it's hard to advise perfectly, but your GPAs are stellar for anyone. Assuming you can score at least in the high 20s, I recommend:

ALL TX schools, including Baylor
Albert Einstein
Boston University
Case Western Reserve
Columbia
Duke
Emory
Harvard
ALL HBCs
Mt. Sinai
Johns Hopkins
Cornell
Mayo
Northwestern
Perelman at UPenn
Rush
Stanford
Stony Brook
Temple
Tulane
UC David Geffen
UC San Diego
UC San Francisco
U of Chicago - Pritzker
Rochester