WAMC: 3.7/508, CA resident with good ECs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

minuteaverage

Reaction score
Thank you for taking the time to read this. I unfortunately got back my MCAT retake score today, and it is the same as the first time (508). More info below. I'm honestly gutted right now and am wondering if I have a chance at MD, or should give up and apply DO. I graduated undergrad in December 2022 and was hoping to apply next month. My non-clinical volunteering is low but I do have a strong theme of service from my work with the disability resource center from my undergrad.
  1. cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS: 3.7/~3.6. Biology major.
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown. Include all (non-voided) attempts: 508 (125/128/128/127) ---> 508 (127/128/125/128)
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US) CA
  4. Ethnicity and/or race Egyptian
  5. Undergraduate institution or category University of California school
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
    1. Clinical research coordinator at T5 medical school. I would say this is 40 percent clinical and 60 percent research. 3 publications (1 1st author) in review. 1 poster/oral presentation at conference. 1300 hours, will continue this job until medical school.
    2. EMT, worked in clinic for uninsured patients - 150 hours.
    3. Volunteer at birth center. 100 hours.
  7. Research experience and productivity
    1. 1000 hours in undergrad research lab. 1 poster/oral presentation with merit award at conference.
  8. Shadowing experience and specialties represented
    1. 70 hours orthopedic surgery
  9. Non-clinical volunteering
    1. DEI committee at undergrad, LGBTQ committee at CRC job
    2. Library volunteer (started this month), could get around 50-70 hours by the time I apply.