WAMC 519 MCAT, sGPA: 3.91, cGPA: 3.90, Advice about ECs/school list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tsirish20

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to this so please don’t roast me too hard if this isn’t the most high-quality post of all time. I am a current junior in undergrad, and I am wondering about my chances applying to start medical school fall 2024. My premed advisor told me that I can proceed with applying during this cycle, but I am just worried I don’t have enough in my extracurriculars to be successful.

1. cGPA: 3.901 sGPA: 3.910
  2. MCAT: 519 (127, 130, 130, 132)
  3. Wisconsin
  4. White/Caucasian
  5. University of Notre Dame
  6. Clinical experience: 720 hours Ophthalmic Technician (all direct patient interaction), 40 hours Hospice Volunteer, 16 hours volunteering with elderly patients at an inner-city hospital.
  7. Research: 80 hours literature review writing a patient resource for the National Organization of Rare Disorders, working on getting this published currently
  8. 25 hours shadowing (ophthalmology, plastic surgery, general surgery, ENT)
  9. Non-Clinical volunteering: 42 hours working with Boys and Girls Club, 40 hours volunteer tutoring for English-learning students and foreign exchance students
  10. Other extracurricular activities: 1040 hours working as a sales associate at a hardware store, 100 hours working as an organic chemistry lab teaching assistant, 80 hours working as a tutor for students and student-athletes at Notre Dame, 50 hours working as captain of an intermural sports team
  11. Rewards: 3x Dean’s List, hoping to get more!
  • Medical College of Wisconsin
  • University of Wisconsin
  • Creighton University
  • Saint Louis University
  • Loyola Stritch School of Medicine
  • Georgetown University
  • Rosalind Franklin University
  • Western Michigan University
  • Wayne State University
  • University of Illinois at Chicago