WAMC as a Reapplicant (523/3.8)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

feath6r

Reaction score
MCAT: 523 (131/130/130/132)
2 gap years
sGPA: 3.79 cGPA: 3.8
  • Graduated from HYPMS in 2023
Volunteering: 325 hours - 50 hours helping setup soccer for those with multiple sclerosis testing site on campus, 100 hours soup kitchen; 150 hours as a Red Cross receptionist helping phlebotomist with patient intake
Research: total: 3150; 700 hours – Senior Thesis where I studied embryo development; 250 hours – summer online research internship where I studied neural pathways in C. elegans; 200 hours – wet lab research where I helped with dissecting mouse aortas on a project studying atherosclerosis; 2000 hours – currently working as a research technician at Columbia Medical School studying an obscure pathway in a form of cancer. No publications unfortunately but might end up on a review by apps (still not sure though) :(.
Work Experience: 900 hours – worked at family owned business during COVID as it was hard to hire people; 75 hours – currently driving for Uber on the side to help pay for medical school applications; 150 hours - worked as a TA for a statistics course in undergraduate for 5 semesters
Clinical Experience: 700 hours – volunteered as an EMT at the rescue squad by my undergraduate school.
Leadership: 600 hours – captain of a school dance team (200 hours as captain)
Shadowing: 60 hours – 20 hours with an orthopedic surgeon and 40 with an emergency doc
Hobbies: Street photography, skating
Demographics: VA resident. South Asian Male