WAMC me - URM (AA), 3.40 uGPA/3.20 sGPA, 31 MCAT, open to anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hdngfrmpplknwn

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My coworker just told me about this site so I thought it'd be cool to see what y'all think about my chances and maybe help me add more schools to my list.
I'm an AZ resident (ASU) so the two state schools are on my list. My stats are 3.40 cGPA and 3.20 sGPA with an upside down bell-curve trend due to family problems (cancer) round graduation. I only took the MCAT once with a score of 31, I graduated this year and taking post-bac classes this upcoming fall and spring, hoping for A's. I'm AA with ties to community/church involvement, low SES disadvantaged, 1st gen college but idk if that matters much.

Experience:
1500+hrs medical scribe, ER
900 hrs medical records worker, 600 hrs lab tech worker
400 hrs non profit volunteer
50 hrs local hospital volunteer, 50 hrs international hospital volunteer,
300 hrs club founder and president, 300 hrs president of another club, 600 hrs executive board member of third club which I was in all of undergrad
800 hrs clinical research, 600 hrs non-clinical research
50 hrs peer mentor and 200 hrs TA
80 hrs shadowing (internal, neuro, psych, rad)

I'm down for MD or DO.

Members don't see this ad.

Your MCAT is good. ith your post-bacc your GPA should be above 3.5 I assume, which will be good. Your activities are excellent. ~85% of AA applicants with 3.4/31 end up being accepted. Apply broadly to all tiers of MD and a few DO.

Give us a list.

Just btw, if you are applying this year, why do a post-bacc?

Reactions: 1 user
Your MCAT is good. With your post-bacc your GPA should be above 3.5 I assume, which will be good. Your activities are excellent. ~85% of AA applicants with 3.4/31 end up being accepted. Apply broadly to all tiers of MD and a few DO.

Give us a list.