WAMC/School List Help (IL resident, URM, 3.75/517)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

osiria

Reaction score
Hello! I am preparing to apply for the 2024-2025 cycle (MD) and I would like to get a sense of my chances at various medical schools, how to refine my list, and advice to help my chances. I am a May 2024 graduate with a B.S. in bioengineering. I feel as though the weak points in my application are my hours. I have always been interested in medicine, but I entered my undergraduate planning on being an engineer. I decided to switch paths my junior year and pursue medical school, but that left a relatively short window for me to gain clinical/volunteer hours. I would like to think that my MCAT, GPA, and experience with engineering and computer science applications to medicine gives me a unique applicant profile. UIUC's engineering school is also relatively prestigious so I hope that looks good on an application as well.

Here are my stats/experiences:
  1. 3.75 GPA
  2. MCAT: 517 (128 chem/phys, 128 CARS, 129 bio, 132 Psych/Soc) (only attempt)
  3. Illinois resident, US citizen
  4. African-American male (second generation immigrant, Nigeria/Zimbabwe)
  5. Recent (May 2024) graduate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (major: bioengineering, focus: computational and systems biology)
  6. Clinical Experience: 340 hours as a CNA in a nursing home, 50 hours volunteering at a hospital at school (over 1-year span)
  7. Research Experience: 213 hours (and counting) working on biomedical imaging through UIUC college of engineering, 1 publication through the Journal of Medical Imaging
  8. No shadowing experience
  9. Little to no non-clinical volunteering (since high school, i don't know if I should include high school volunteering)