WAMC/School List: ORM (MCAT: 512, GPA: 3.93)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Artemis20

Reaction score
  • GPA: 3.93 cgpa 3.93 sgpa
  • Major: Biochemistry Major
  • MCAT: 512 (129/125/129/139)
  • ORM/URM: ORM, White (high income - privileged background)
  • Michigan Resident
  • Clinical volunteering: 256 hours
    • 96 hours at free clinic where I worked as a EMT. Most patients are uninsured and disadvantaged.
    • 160 at a Canadian free clinic. Same experience as above
    • Could be inflated higher if I consider my first year as an on campus EMT where I was not paid.
  • Non-clinical volunteering:250 hours
    • 150 hours volunteering mentoring high school students about stem for FIRST Robotics.
      • Taught programming and electrical concepts in a robotic setting.
    • 50 hours volunteering for meals on wheels (transporting food to elderly)
    • 50 hours volunteering for a local environmental organization removing invasive species
  • Shadowing: ~80 hours, Family practice, Radiology, Pediatric general surgery, internal medicine, ENT
  • Clinical Experience: 2500 hours
    • Worked as an on campus EMT
      • Operations Chief
  • Teaching/Tutoring: ~150 hours as biology TA and as a STOP THE BLEED instructor
  • Research: 1500 hours
    • 3 years in biology research lab. Invented and freely released design.
    • 1 year working remote for a electrical engineering / computer science lab
  • Pubs/Posters: 1 first author publication. Working on second publication (2nd or 3rd author). 2 posters presented at symposiums
  • LORS: 1 strong research, 1 non-science, 2 science, 1 strong physician recommendation, 1 TA professor rec.
  • Other potentially interesting facts?:
    • 2nd degree black belt, Lead rock climber, competitive military obstacle course runner, Freshman RA for 2 years.
    • Distinguished achievement award for the invention. Earned scholarship as a result.