WAMC, Texas Resident 3.67/514

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

piguy

Reaction score
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting so sorry in advance if I do anything incorrectly.

For some background, I currently attend UW-Madison and I plan on applying this upcoming cycle. I was hoping for some advice in terms of school list and any holes in my app.
Texas Resident
Major: Neurobiology/Psychology
Minor(Called a certificate at Madison): Japanese Professional Communications

1. Mcat: 514 (129,130,126,129)

2. cGPA: 3.67, sGPA: 3.64 - I had some questions about this since TMDSAS does grading differently. UW Madison does an A/AB/B/BC scale with an AB being 3.5, BC being a 2.5, etc. I have a decent amount of AB grades and was wondering how TMDSAS would grade those since if that would be an A on their scale it would definitely help my gpa.

3. Clinical experience
Volunteer: EMT in a rural area (200 hours, 4 months to date), ER (20 hours, very quickly felt like I wasn't really doing anything)
Non-Volunteer: Patient Sitter (900 hours, 16 months to date)
4. Research: 800 hours (neuroscience, 2 posters, 2.5 years)
I am currently being trained to work with primates and will being that for my research work moving forward

5. Shadowing: 60 hours - neurosurgery clinic, plastic surgery OR (plan to also shadow a family medicine physician prior to applying)

6. Non-clinical volunteering: 40 hours (food pantry, community center) - this is an area I am concerned about, but I am currently volunteering at the community center and hope to be there more, still don't know if that number will be much higher prior to applying since I will be studying abroad this summer.

7. Extracurriculars:
AED premed club - 2 years, 120 hours, national member