What are my chances, 3.38 26 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newenglandlobster508

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im new to this site so please don't bash me, I am an applicant with a 3.38 GPA, 3.0 SGPA, and 27 MCAT (10 P, 9 B, 7 V). I graduated in bioengineering, completed the degree in less than 3 years, had my mother pass away during my freshman year. Probably somewhere in the 300-400 hour range of volunteering experience and shadowing physicians. 1 published paper and a device I developed for neurosurgery and robotic surgery combined

I applied somewhat broadly, DMU, LMU, Lake Eerie, all the touros, liberty, ACOM, AZCOM, Marian, etc etc (18 schools total). I applied late this year in the application cycle though, completed it by October 2nd.

I have received quite a few secondaries but do I have any chance?
I am repeating my MCAT and applied to graduate schools just for the record.

Members don't see this ad.

I would say you should retake your science classes to get that sGPA to about a 3.4...

I have graduated already, I will consider that option but I am currently asking if there is even a 1% chance of being admitted.

Members don't see this ad :)
must retake courses and raise science gpa past 3.4 and overall to 3.5
if you have rural experience in your extra curriculars you may land an II

If you had applied when the cycle opened I guarantee you would have received a few IIs and possibly some acceptances by now. I would suggest you raise that GPA, add more schools if you can, and get those secondaries out ASAP.

FWIW, I have around the same stats, and I received 5 IIs. I applied early and broadly, however.

good luck bud!

sgpa is low.. But how are your extracurriculars and letters and ps? You have to be an incredible applicant and very personable to make up for the gpa

Mcat is good, are any of those physician shadowing hours with a do?