DO What are my chances? DO - MCAT 24, Sci 3.6 GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jamie407

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

Looking for your honest opinions and recommendations if I should apply to certain schools. I did OK on the sciences section, but messed up on verbal. I am a native English speaker, it was just a bad day and a rough section!

I am 28 years old, non-traditional, so would prefer not to have to wait another year if i can help it...

Below are my results...

B:10 P:10 V:4
Sci GPA: 3.61
Cumulative 3:32 (I had a messy first couple of years when I started higher education 10 years ago! Last few years has been much better.)

I have a degree in Music, and will have a second degree in biology by the end of spring 2014.

Applied to:

LECOM - Fl
LECOM - PA
NOVA
WVSOM
Pikeville
LMU
VCOM - VA
VCOM - SC
Touro - NY
ATSU - AZ

Any recommendation of other schools I should have applied for, please don't hesitate to shout out!

Thanks so much for any feedback and opinions. I really appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

You are not going to get any ii with that 4 on verbal. Native English speaker or not. However, you have no excuse scoring that low being a native speaker (forgive my bluntness). Dedicate the next four months to the mcat, score 28+, apply Day1 and you should get ii's from nearly every place you applied to.

Good luck!

He is correct. A 4 is way too low. And if you take a few practice verbal sections, you should have no problem bringing that score up. At the beginning of my practice exams I was scoring 3s and 4s on verbal. After the 5th practice exam I was scoring 8s and 9s on the verbal section. Just practice, bring it up, and you will have no problem getting into many schools, MDs as well. Good luck.

Members don't see this ad :)